JD Fergusson Arts Awards Trust

JD Fergusson Arts Award

Previous winners of the Travel award: (L-R) Michelle de Bruin; Robert Balfour Ward; Jennifer Argo

For promising Scottish artists at a timely moment in their careers.

Are you an artist looking for the freedom to develop your creative practice and ideas?

The JD Fergusson Arts Award offers a wonderful opportunity for artists looking to boost their career or take an inspirational break to develop personally and professionally.

2018 JD Fergusson Travel Prize

This year’s award offers artists the opportunity of support in the region of £3000 – 4000 to travel to their chosen destination in order to research and develop their artwork.

Previous winners have travelled to the USA, Australia, New Zealand, Italy and the Antarctic.


Artist criteria for applying

The award is open to artists working in any visual arts discipline, within the following criteria:

  • If you were born in Scotland or have spent more than half your life resident in Scotland.
  • Any professional training undertaken was completed three years ago or more.
  • Any awards or support received (e.g. residencies, grants) within the last two years were not over the value of £1,000 on any one occasion.
  • You are not an elected member of any of the major award giving artistic bodies, e.g. RSA, RSW.
  • You have not previously won the J D Fergusson Arts Award.

Find out more on how to apply.

The closing date for applications is 31 October each year.

About the award

The J. D. Fergusson Arts Award aims to encourage promising Scottish artists by giving an annual award. Awards are given in alternating years for exhibition (development and production of new work) and travel (research and development).  Last year’s award was the 2017 Exhibition Award.

Previous winners

Past J D Fergusson Arts Award Winners

Year Winner Theme
2017 Janeanne Gilchrist Exhibition
2016 Jennifer Argo Travel
2015 Susheila Jamieson Exhibition
2014 Fiona Maher Travel
2013 Debbie Lawson Exhibition
2012 Michelle de Bruin and  Emma Noble Travel
2011 Katie Lowery Exhibition
2010 Robert Ward Travel
2009 Clare Yarrington Exhibition
2008 Gillian Forbes Travel
2007 Jean Duncan Exhibition
2006 Eve Thomson Travel
2005 Jim Bond Exhibition
2004 Anne Devine Travel
2003 Clare Blois Exhibition
2002 Daisy Richardson Travel
2001 Shona Leitch Exhibition
2000 Elaine Wilson Travel
1999 Blair Millen Exhibition
1998 Cath Keay Travel
1997 Arran Ross Exhibition

Please help support us

We are incredibly grateful to all our donors, supporters and sponsors.