Visit a CPK Library

School visits to community libraries

A class visit to your local library can help children become independent library users, develop confidence in handling books and information, and generate an interest in reading through a wide range of exciting stories and lively non fiction.

What do school visits include?

The visits can cover

  • joining the library and the range of materials available
  • finding books and information
  • encouraging children to enjoy books and reading
  • using IT resources where appropriate

The visit lets children familiarise themselves with the library layout, ask questions and listen to stories.

Older children can take part in a practical session using information skills. This helps introduce children to the wide range of materials available in community libraries. Upper primary and secondary school age children can also visit the Archives, local and family history departments within the AK Bell Library in Perth.

How to arrange a school visit

To arrange a class visit, please speak to the librarian at your local library. Staff will be able to advise on how to tailor the visit to ensure it is relevant and appropriate to the age of the class.

Local libraries

Library Telephone Email
AK Bell Library 01738 444949 library@culturepk.org.uk
Alyth Library 01828 632731 alythlibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Auchterarder Library 01764 661435 auchterarderlibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Birnam Library 01350 727971 birnamlibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Blairgowrie Library 01250 871305 blairgowrielibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Breadalbane Library 01887 822405 breadalbanelibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Comrie Library 01764 670273 comrielibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Coupar Angus Library 01250 871449 couparanguslibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Loch Leven Library 01577 867205 lochlevenlibrary@culturepk.org.uk
North Inch Library 01738 454406 northinchlibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Pitlochry Library 01796 474635 pitlochrylibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Scone Library 01738 459565 sconelibrary@culturepk.org.uk
Strathearn Library 01764 657705 strathearnlibrary@culturepk.org.uk

Mobile Libraries

Our mobile library service travels over 50,000 miles a year taking books, CDs and DVDs to the rural parts of Perth and Kinross not served by a community library building. For information on mobile libraries click here.

Please help support us

We are incredibly grateful to all our donors, supporters and sponsors.

Donate